Dip Your Feet

Posted: November 22, 2017 in Idol Hands
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dip your feet in the water,

That cold, cold water’

A stagnant reminder of the ripples of change,

Rearrange your needs,

Become a new you; Like the weeds that grasp what they believe,

Live through the concrete, Make it home, that familiar unknown.

I dance on my own, a sunflower left a-strewn

No cares needed, just be your own

This City will make you yearn,

For things that are never known

Cure the itch or let it grow

Dip your finger in a bag of insanity

Realise it makes sense

Respect the other, or not bother

Nothing really matters,

Slit my throat with a feather,

flit your wings with a jack hammer

Show me what we already know

We are the seeds that are left to sow

We are the ones they don’t want to know

The hand that just won’t fold

Weeds that refuse to grow old

Freedom that only we know

So dip your feet in the stale water below

Take comfort in the sincerity of the chaos

We will live, and we will die

My life is mine

Bloody and screaming, a knife held above our head

From the day we were born

Until the day we say goodbye

when I make a choice, there is no divine

Redefine your lines, or blame the silence that won’t die

I dance on my own, a sunflower left to strewn

No cares needed, just be your own

This City will make you yearn,

For things that are never known

Cure the itch or let it grow

You’re only as old as you know

Let it shape you or dip your feather in the ink

Let it rip away the world of numbers and spreadsheets

Slit my throat with ideas, make me anew

Open, never vacant

An empty space without a shrink

No cue to be told when to think

Never censored, always on the brink

An accountant without a financial need

An addict without their weed

 

Leave a comment